First Day On The Surgical Unit

I spent my first day at the surgical assessment unit today and it was quite productive, Alhamdulillah. I got to clerk in two patients, took some bloods, saw a cannula being put in twice and was able to see some of a cardiac arrest call.

I spent quite a long time on the wards today which was quite tough considering it was a very hot day today. The wards felt very stuffy and I just generally felt quite physically uncomfortable and sweaty.

I feel a lot more confident being on the wards this time round. I feel like I know more about what I should do and what is expected of me, Alhamdulillah. I feel more confident in approaching the doctors and asking for help and I realise that it is important to look enthusiastic and ask questions, as well as try to bond with and build a rapport with the doctors. 

I’m also with another student on the ward who I seem to be getting on quite well with. She is a nice, caring girl and I think we work well as a team. 

I did think Medicine was quite glamorous when I was younger but the reality has hit me that things aren’t so hunky dory. We’re working under a lot of pressure. There is a lot of work, few breaks, hardship from other colleagues/patients/their family, as well as trying to be mentally resilient at work whilst also having to deal with many of life’s other challenges. It is by no means a glamorous or relaxing ride. One will be tested and pushed to the limits of what one can handle emotionally. 

There have been so many changes in my life. Perhaps busy is good at times because those worries and woes that I have/had aren’t so centre-stage anymore. It’s going further and further into the background. I’m aware that those issues are there but sometimes they become less and less of an issue.

Leave a Reply

