Islam and Self Esteem

I was listening to a lecture on self-esteem by a speaker called Yassir Fazaga, where he used examples from the Quran to highlight how our self-esteem can sometimes be throttled by people in power/authority to serve their interests. He then went to explain how we could improve our self esteem, and he reminded us that we are Muslim and this fact is what makes us special. It is not about what we do in our lives but the fact that Allah has given us such a high status which should make us feel good about ourselves. Allah says in the Quran:

“You are the best nation produced [as an example] for mankind.”

(3:110)

The Creator is telling us that we are people of status and honour. He has regarded us to be WAY better than all the people of previous nations and even the ones who were given the scripture before us.

The reason why I wanted to look into this topic is because recently I have found myself feeling quite low about myself. And I feel unsure about my character and whether I behave in the correct way regarding my interactions with others.

It was nice that the lecture shifted my views about my own self esteem from myself to Allah, reminding me that I am not intrinsically good nor will I become good of my own doing, but I am good because Allah has said I am good and as long as I follow His path, then that is all the goodness I need.

Another fact I was reminded of was that Allah will not challenge us with more than we can bear. It says in the Quran:

Allah does not charge a soul except [with that within] its capacity. It will have [the consequence of] what [good] it has gained, and it will bear [the consequence of] what [evil] it has earned. “Our Lord, do not impose blame upon us if we have forgotten or erred. Our Lord, and lay not upon us a burden like that which You laid upon those before us. Our Lord, and burden us not with that which we have no ability to bear. And pardon us; and forgive us; and have mercy upon us. You are our protector, so give us victory over the disbelieving people.”

(2:286)

Allah has provided us with the capacity to solve our problems inshaAllah. He has provided us with the tools. We just need to trust that inshaAllah.

It is interesting that the verse finishes with a d’ua. It is like the d’ua is the cure for the hardship.

May Allah make it easy for everyone who is going through struggles at the moment.

Leave a Reply

