Life Audit

Bismillahir Rahmaanir Raheem

Yesterday we had a teaching session where a GP asked us to consider the various areas of our lives such as health, wealth, career, etc and rate how satisfied we were with each of those areas. Altogether these areas formed the circle of life.

I felt uncomfortable doing the task because it felt strange to me to consider other areas of my life when I was at work. I compartmentalise my life and when I am at uni or on placement, I like to solely focus on that. Here was a man asking me to consider my life in it’s entirety in the presence of my other colleagues and reflect on it. It was really out of my comfort zone.

It’s not like I did not think the process was useful, because I do think it is important for one to ‘audit’ their life regularly, especially as we are Muslims so we should constantly be seeking to improve our lives. It was just that it felt strange to do it at that particular moment and I definitely did not feel comfortable with sharing any of my reflections on it.

The process highlighted once again to me how dissatisfied I was with certain areas of my life. I did not appreciate being reminded of these features during that session. I think my non-Muslim colleagues benefitted from the session because it got them thinking about their futures and the kind of life they wanted.

I try not to think too far ahead about my life because there are far too many uncertainties. I think it is better to live life in a way where we are most concerned about pursuing our most immediate/important concerns. The future is built by the present. Of course it is perfectly acceptable to have milestones and things you would like to achieve, and perhaps you need that so you know how you should live your present.

I know I am very career oriented and in the past, perhaps my life has been more swayed towards this, which is out of my own choice. I do not think there is anything wrong with people prioritising different areas of their life at different times. 

So right now, what do I feel is the most important to me?

  1. Becoming an excellent doctor
  2. Striving to gain islamic knowledge
  3. Building good connections with family/friends and giving da’wah.

The above three are my most important aims. But then I also need to acknowledge the following:

  1. Be well enough to pursue the above health-wise which means doing exercise and eating well.
  2. Be financially comfortable so I can do all the things I want to do in life.
  3. Be able to live comfortably so I can achieve the above more easily inshaAllah.

I know I have very high standards and expectations and this is what can sometimes be my downfall. I pray that Allah allows me to pursue what is the most important to Him and my deen and I pray he gives me the wisdom to know how to allocate my time accordingly.

Leave a Reply

