My Personal Lessons on Brotherhood

And so it is a great blessing that sometimes Allah takes things away from us for our own good, so that we can turn to Him instead of to our friends, so we can learn to be stronger, and so we don’t form attachments with worldly things.

By the grace of Allah, things have improved enormously in my life, Alhamdulillah. Since I have moved flats, I’m not feeling as miserable when I get home. I feel happier and more upbeat. I associate the previous flat of mine with a lot of pain and bitterness, so I wanted to escape it at the first possible opportunity.

I also have a family wedding coming up which has provided some positive and happy distractions for me. It gives me something to look forward to, plus it has made me busy trying to sort out my outfit to try to make it look perfect on the day inshaAllah 🙂

I feel that the wounds are starting to heal slightly with the problems I had with my friend. I do feel that occasionally the shaytan tries to make me think negatively about her and remind me of her flaws.

After watching a few lectures on tazkiyyah (purification of the soul), I was taught and reminded that we should not feel hatred in our hearts towards any of the believers, not should we feel any envy. This is a beautiful hadith about how we should not be towards the other believers.

On the authority of Abu Huraira (may Allah be pleased with him) who said: The Messenger of Allah (may Allah’s peace and blessings be upon him) said, “Do not be envious of one another; do not artificially raise prices against one another; do not hate one another; do not turn one’s back on each other; and do not undercut one another in business transactions. And be, [O] servants of Allah, bretheren. A Muslim is the brother of a Muslim. He does not wrong him. He does not fail him [when he needs him]. He does not lie to him. And he does not show contempt for him. Piety is here” – and he pointed to his chest three times. “It is enough of evil for a person to hold his brother Muslim in contempt. All of a Muslim is inviolable to another Muslim: his blood, his wealth and his honor.” 

(Recorded in Muslim)

Brotherhood is very important in islam as the above hadith shows. There are numerous other ahaadeeth which prove this point further, as we are required to help each other out as we are like “one body, so if one part hurts, the rest of it is in pain.” 

I had to remind myself that Allah is merciful too and if I expect Allah to forgive the worst of my sins, then why should I feel so harshly towards another of his believers.

I have learnt a lot from this episode and ‘break up’ in my life. I should not overburden other people with my emotional problems because they will not know how to handle it and it may cause them distress. It has reminded me that I should turn to Allah first and foremost as He is the best helper and only He alone can fix these problems in my life.

I am grateful to Allah for getting me to a position which is so much better to how I was a few weeks and months ago, Alhamdulillah. I know I am not grateful enough but I want to be.

The believers are one family to each other, and regardless of our differences, we must stay united for the sake of Allah and not allow any dunya differences or the shaytan to get in between us. 

Leave a Reply

